Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
8

New podcast alert: Zandra Rhodes, the legendary fashion designer on ageing uncompromisingly

"Most of my relationships fell apart because of my work ethic"
8

The Shift With Sam Baker is a reader-supported publication. All the podcast episodes are free to listen, but if you value my work and would like to help me keep doing it, please consider becoming a paid subscriber.

The new season of The Shift with Sam Baker podcast is here and today’s episode might be one of my favourites ever. (Although TBH that feels like choosing a favourite child, not that I’d know much about that…)

Anyway, I can’t be cool about today’s guest, so I’m not even going to try. Ever since I started The Shift I have had a Wishlist and high up on it from day one was Dame Zandra Rhodes.

Yes, that Zandra Rhodes. There can only be one after all.

For over 50 years, Zandra has been a leading figure in the British fashion industry, renowned for her prints and her use of colour. Over the years she has dressed everyone from Princesses Diana to Freddie Mercury, Diana Ross and Debbie Harry, and collaborated with everyone from M&S to Ikea. Zandra is nothing if not egalitarian.

Now 83 (and in remission from the terminal cancer she was diagnosed with at the start of covid), she has no plans to stop any time soon, as evidenced by her new book Iconic, My Life in Fashion in 50 Objects, a whistle-stop tour through her incredible life hanging out with Ossie Clark, lunching with Truman Capote and Babe Paley, making a lifelong friend of legendary Vogue editor Diana Vreeland.

Which is how I get to be on my way to Bermondsey to hang out at her fabulous flat to talk about her equally fabulous life. I know!

Zandra and I sat down with a cuppa to discuss how a “boring little girl” became synonymous with big, bold, uncompromising style, her lifelong workaholism, living a child-free life, using clothes as armour and the rejection that was the making of her. 

Listen to this episode

I hope you enjoy this episode as much as I enjoyed making it. Do let me know what you think, either here or wherever you get your podcasts.

Sx

PS Fancy a little nosey at Zandra’s flat? ⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️

The Shift With Sam Baker is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


8 Comments
The Shift With Sam Baker
The Shift With Sam Baker Podcast
Amplifying and celebrating the voices of women in midlife and beyond by the former editor of Red, Cosmopolitan (and Just 17!)
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
sam baker